Hard Lotion Bar & Happy New Year!!!

Happy New Year everyone!!! It’s been a long time since I’ve been here on the old blog, but let’s hope this is the first post of 2017 with many more to come. (Fingers crossed for that one!! LOL)

Every year I try to create something special for the women of my family, and this year was no exception. After thinking long and hard and trying to come up with something new, different, and hopefully useful I decided to try my hand at two different things; hard lotion bars and making soap from scratch. Tonight let’s start with the lotion bars.

lotionbar

Who here as ever heard of a hard lotion bar before?? I know I sure didn’t until I started prowling around my favorite site, Pinterest. There are many different recipes out there, but they are all fairly similar in nature, oils (olive, coconut, almond) or butters (cocoa or shea), beeswax and an optional fragrance or two. You will also need some sort of heat resistant container to melt everything in, some form of weighing or measuring your ingredients and some sort of mold to pour your melted mixture into.

lotionbar_01

The recipe I chose to try called for equal weights of coconut oil, sweet almond oil, and beeswax. There was no exact number to shoot for in this particular recipe, just make what you need, so, since the magic number for me was 9 bars including myself, I chose 2 ounces of each item. Using my handy dandy scale I weighed out each of my ingredients and placed the 2 oz. of coconut oil and 2 oz. of beeswax pellets into my Pyrex measuring cup set into a sauce pan with some simmering water. The 2 oz. of sweet almond oil was set aside until the hard ingredients had melted.

lotionbar_05

As you can see in the following image, it will take the beeswax a lot longer to melt than the coconut oil, but it will happen.

lotionbar_06

After everything has liquefied, I added the sweet almond oil. Since it was a chilly morning here when I added the almond oil it solidified just a bit, but melted again rather quickly.

lotionbar_07

Being very careful, pour the hot mixture into your mold. I am using a cute silicone mold that I picked up at Michael’s. It didn’t take long for the mixture to begin to cool and harden in the mold as you can see in the picture.

lotionbar_08

I let the bars sit in the molds most of the day, but in reality about an hour in our chilly house would have been fine.

lotionbar_09

Pop them out of the mold, place in a cute little tin and there you have it! I like to use my lotion bar right before bed, but you could use them any time of the day.

If you give this recipe a try, let me know how you like them!

 

Leave a Reply

