Explosion Box

A few years ago I saw instructions to make an explosion box, but when I tried to recreate it, something went terribly wrong. What appeared before my eyes was not even close to a square box shape, so I tucked the idea away. Not long ago, a friend mentioned seeing one of these boxes online and asked me if I had ever made one. After recounting the misadventure I decided to give it another go, and this time it turned out perfect!

ExplosionBox_09

ExplosionBox_10

To create this you will need 3 pieces of 12” x 12” card stock for the box construction and one piece of 8 ½” x 11” card stock for the lid.

With the first three sheets of card stock, leave one at 12” x 12”, cut the second down to 11” x 11”, and cut the third to 10” x 10”. For the lid, cut this sheet of card stock to 6 5/8” x 6 5/8”.

ExplosionBox_01

Starting with the 12” x 12” sheet, score all four sides at 4”

For the 11” x 11” sheet, score all four sides at 3 ¾”

For the 10” x 10” sheet, score all four sides at 3 ½”

For the 6 5/8” x 6 5/8” sheet, score all four sides at 1 ¼” and then set it aside for later.

Now let’s focus our attention on the box and the first three sheets of card stock. Using a pair of scissors or your favorite cutting device, remove the outside corner pieces at the score lines as shown in the following picture.

ExplosionBox_04

When you have finished with all three of the sheets, fold at your score lines. If you want to do anything to your edges, now is the time to do that, as I did with my Distress ink in Vintage Photo. Don’t forget to ink both the front and the back of each piece. This may also be a good time to add your decorative paper to each flap. I waited until my box was constructed, but the next time I will do this step first.

ExplosionBox_05

To secure your layers together, use a strong tape adhesive, such as redline or (my personal favorite) Score Tape. It was easier for me to start with the smaller panel and adhere it to the medium size panel before securing the group to the larger panel.

ExplosionBox_06

Now to create the cover of our box lets grab that last piece of card stock. Rather than completely removing the corner pieces as we did for the box, we will just snip along the score line as shown in the following image. Also now is the perfect time to add your decorative paper as well as inking the edges if you so desire. Again using a strong adhesive on the small flaps, create your box top.

ExplosionBox_08

From here you can add your photographs and present your loved one with the perfect interactive gift.

Here is a list of sizes for each layer of the box:

Inside center square of the box: 2 ¾” x 2 ¾”

Lid top and inside square: 3 7/8” x 3 7/8”

Lid side panels x4: 1 1/8” x 3 7/8”

Small box panels: 2 ¾” x 3 ¼”

Medium box panels: 3 ½” x 3 ¼”

Large box panels: 3 ¾” x 3 ¾”

 

I decided to try something new this time. Rather than add a million pictures of the finished box, I started playing around in Movie Maker and created a slide show/video to showcase the finished project. Well, little did I know that you can’t just upload a video file, so I also ended up creating my own YouTube channel in the process. Let me know what you think!

 

 

The Kraft cardstock and decorative paper, Bella Bohemia are both from The Paper Studio

Flowers – Classic Sunflower Collection Die from Heartfelt Creations

 

Leave a Reply

