2015 Christmas Cards

Back in October my sister and I attended the Scrapbook Expo down in Denver and while wandering around drooling over all of the fun items I fell in love with the Elizabeth Craft Designs Metal Die Ornament Sets 2 & 3. Once I had the dies in my crafty little hands, I had to figure out what to do with them, so it was off to Pinterest to get some ideas. Here are two examples that started the wheels turning…

After thinking about it for a while, I decided to go with a clean and simple design.

CCards_2015_01

Each die set has two different overlay patterns. Since I couldn’t decide which I liked better, I used them all. The glitter paper is from a Paper Studio pack, and the Merry Christmas stamp is from Tim Holtz stamped with black Memento ink and embossed with a clear embossing powder.

CCards_2015_02

CCards_2015_03

CCards_2015_04

CCards_2015_05

The most difficult part of these cards was trying to glue the top layer to the base design. I wanted a little more “wiggle room” than my xyron would allow, but when I tried to add some Scotch brand Quick Dry Adhesive with a toothpick, it globbed on and was just Yuck! It took a few days to remember my unused Zig 2 Way Glue Pen that offered much greater control.

I’m curious, how do you come up with your card designs? Do you already have a plan in mind or do you find a stamp or die set and look for ideas elsewhere? Let me know in the comments below, and as always, thanks for dropping by the Craftroom!

One comment on “2015 Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

