Watercolor Card

It’s time to take the card making in a different direction today with watercolors. This is another technique I’ve been following on Pinterest but when I give it a go the results are never what I want them to be. Of the 5 pieces of watercolor paper I tried making the other day; this is the only one that was presentable. So of course I had to turn it into another beautiful card.

WatercolorCard_01

To begin I cut several pieces of 90 lb. watercolor paper and taped them down to my green cutting mat with blue painters tape to keep everything straight as they dried. For this piece I brushed clean water onto the paper in a diagonal direction and then added a wash of colors consisting of two different blues and two different greens. It then sat for a few hours to air dry completely.

Using StazOn ink in Jet Black I stamped one of the images from the Inkadinkado Meadow stamp set onto the center of the watercolor paper. As you can see in the close-up image I have once again added a tell-tale sign that this is a handmade card by messing up the top of the stamped image! LOL No your eyes are not deceiving you, it is indeed blurry!! LOL

WatercolorCard_02

To complete the card I ran a piece of Pure Luxury card stock through my Provo Craft Cuttlebug Textile embossing folder, then added a Tonic Studios border punch, and I now have a cute little “Any Occasion” card to mail.

Leave a Reply

