Vellum and Alcohol Inks

Here are two more cards that were directly inspired from a youtube video found on Pinterest by Sue McRae using vellum and alcohol inks. Here’s the link if you wanna go take a peek at the fun, yet slightly messy technique.

To make these cards I used Adirondack Alcohol Inks in Wild Plum, Eggplant, and a small touch of Stream along with some blending solution. I then used two Hero Arts Stamps, Large Blossoms and Poppy Background cling stamps and embossed with white embossing powder.

The close-up of this first card is all three alcohol inks at their full strength with no blending solution added. I’m not sure why the ink color is bleeding through the embossing, but it is either because the embossing powder consists of rather large granules or the stamp didn’t have enough Versa Mark ink on it.

VellumAlcohol_02

Here is a close-up of the second image. As you can see, the color is a lot lighter than the first image because I didn’t add any more ink to the applicator, just some of the blending solution. The color didn’t bleed through the embossing this time, again I’m not sure why.

VellumAlcohol_05

Here are the finished cards. The first one includes the use of one of the Cuttlebug embossing folders from the Oriental Weave collection. I also added a small piece of the vellum to the inside of the card.

VellumAlcohol_01

VellumAlcohol_03

And here is the second card. This one looks a little plain to me but it is still pretty.

VellumAlcohol_04

VellumAlcohol_06

I’m curious which one you all like better? Let me know if the comments below!

 

2 comments on “Vellum and Alcohol Inks

  1. Alex says:

    I absolutely love this! It’s so pretty and creative! I must try this, but I’m not that great of an artist!

    • coloradoleen says:

      Thanks for visiting the craft room Alex. The best part of alcohol inks is you really don’t need to be an artist to use them. I am a prime example of that for sure!! 😉

Leave a Reply

