Card Making Fun

I had some fun messing around with my craft supplies yesterday and wanted to share the results with you.

The first card I made uses the emboss resist technique. I started out by stamping my image, Garden Bouquet from Hero Arts, onto a piece of water color paper and embossing it with white embossing powder before cutting it out with a round die from nestabilities. The next step was to wet the paper and with a water brush apply some Distress Inks in Mustard Seed, Fired Brick, and Rusty Hinge. I let this air dry for a while, although I could have rushed the process by using my heat gun. A scalloped circle was cut in the same dark brown as the card base and I also heat embossed the greeting with white embossing powder. The matt is a piece of ivory pure luxury card stock in the layering weight.

EmbossResist_Birthday

The next card I made used a new to me technique called white washing. The stamp is Striped Vase Sketch by Hero Arts and it was embossed with white embossing powder onto a scrap piece of kraft cardstock. To do the white washing you start with a white ink pad, in my case it was Color Box pigment ink in Frost White. I put a few swipes of it on my craft sheet and then with a water brush I picked up some of the ink and painted it on the image. After that dried, I used the water brush to apply Distress Inks in Mustard Seed, Rusty Hinge, Peeled Paint, and Tea Dye. The affect is very subtle, but I like it. I finished the card with a piece of ribbon that’s been in my stash for a long time. On a piece of Pure Luxury card stock in ivory the sentiment was stamped in Memento Ink in Rich Cocoa, and I rounded the top corners on all layers.

WhiteWash

The last card I made is a single layer card. To begin I masked off a section of the card base of Pure Luxury Ivory card stock with some scrap paper before stamping the Winter Woods stamp in Rich Cocoa Memento Ink. I then sponged the sky with Weathered Wood distress ink and the ground with Frayed Burlap Distress Ink. You can’t see it in the image, but I added some embossed lines above and below the image.

SingleLayer

I’m really pleased with how these cards turned out, and can’t wait to try a few more ideas that are floating around in my head.

 

2 comments on “Card Making Fun

  1. suzzles says:

    Love all of these cards. Susan

  2. suzzles says:

    Also want to add I appreciate how you explain your techniques / instructions so clearly. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

