Resin Pendant Christmas Gifts

For the past several years I’ve made Christmas gifts for all of the ladies in my family and this year was no exception. After an extensive search for something fun and different to try, I settled on making something with resin. There were a few different ideas that I really liked, but I finally settled on making initial pendants for everyone.

ResinNecklace_01

For these necklaces I used the following supplies:

  • Envirotex Jewelry Resin
  • Nickel square and round pendant bezels
  • Iced Enamels Shattered Inclusions in Opal
  • Stazon Ink in Jet Black
  • Alphabet stamps
  • And tissue paper

Pendants_01

Above is a picture of pendants in two different stages, on the left is the first “pour” so to speak and the right are empty pendants ready to fill. Because of the type of bezel used I had to mount them on a small block of wood to keep them level. To do this I just added a small piece of double sided tape to the back to make sure I didn’t accidentally knock it off the block while working with them.

To begin, I mixed up some of the resin and added a thin layer to the bottom of each bezel. Then I added some of the opal inclusions and let it sit covered and undisturbed for 12 hours. The next afternoon the process started with stamping each initial onto a piece of tissue paper with the StazOn ink and then cutting it to size. I mixed up another batch of resin and added a small amount to each before floating the tissue paper in the bezel. The magic with this process is the tissue paper literally disappears and the stamped image seems to float on top of the inclusions. The final step is to add just enough resin on top to make a nice domed finish.

In the next picture you can see the doming on the two pendants. With a little more practice I’m sure I could get an even higher dome, but for a first try I’m happy with the affect.

Pendants_04

And here are all of the pendants, (minus Heidi’s which was already on its way to Florida at the time). I took this picture with my phone so I do apologize for the poor lighting.

Pendants_03

The packaging this year was a bit different. With the help of my husband, we found these little take out boxes by Celebrate It. I filled them with some silver and iridescent metallic crinkle fill. I then cut a piece of cardstock to fit inside the box to hold the necklace (as you can see in the first image) and added a tag to the front. Simple, but adorable!

ResinNecklace_03

Everyone seemed to love their necklace! Now I think it’s time to start on next years gifts! LOL

Leave a Reply

