Graduation Card

One of my son’s best friends graduated from High School yesterday morning. He and my son have spent a lot of time together over the years and is considered a member of our family, so his card had to be hand made with love.

It took me a while to find a design I really liked, but I chose to do a clean and simple card. The card base is black with maroon and white Pure Luxury layering weight cardstock. The graduates initials and the year were printed on the computer using the Monotype Corsiva font, and the graduation cap and tassel are handmade.

GraduationCard_01

For the inside of the card, I needed a place to secure his gift so when I cut the cardstock down from the 8 ½” x 11” piece I first trimmed it to 7” x 11” then on the 11” side, scored it at 5” and at 10”. I used that last inch to form a small pocket.

GraduationCard_02

The graduation hat and tassel were the most fun to create. The idea for the graduation cap came from (big surprise here) Pinterest, and a link to Just Julie B’s Stampin Space. She created her cap with a strip of cardstock, punches and a paper trimmer. I changed it up a bit and rather than using my paper trimmer (which wouldn’t work for this small of a piece of paper) I used my Spellbinders Classic Diamonds Nestabilities die for the top. I also don’t have an oval punch, so I just used a circle punch for the bottom of the cap. The tassel was created with some white tatting thread I have left over and it’s secured with a tiny gold brad.

GraduationCard_03

All in all I am very pleased with the way the card turned out.

 

Leave a Reply

