Mini Album

This cute little mini album is the result of my endless hours on Pinterest! The pages follow a video tutorial from Ginger at mysisitersscrapper and the binding idea on the spine is from a video by Suzy at creativecafegirl.

When making my pages, I changed the dimensions just a bit from the original. Using an 8 ½” x 11” sheet of cardstock I cut six (6) sheets down to 8 ½” x 10”. The score lines were as follows: On the 10” side score the sheet in half at 5”. Turn the sheet over and on the 8 ½” side score at 2 ½”. After pre-folding each sheet I then cut a decorative edge with my Martha Stewart edge punch for the top of each pocket. The pages are bound with Laura Denison’s Stack the Deck system.

One of the reasons it took so long to complete this book was I wanted to figure out how to add the paper to the spine and not have it crack, because that really bugs me. I tried a new technique that I found on Pinterest by Suzy at creativecafegirl. Rather than using just a piece of cardstock to connect the front, back and spine of the books, she used a piece of sticky back canvas attached to the cardstock to help create the binding. My stash of stuff only had regular canvas, so I glued some to my cardstock with Gel Medium. As you can see in my example below, I cut the canvas larger than needed before attaching my cardstock. When it was dry, I cut it the desired size. Like Suzy, I colored the canvas where it would show between the cover and spine, although I just used some black craft paint. What I did neglect to do was run the finished cardstock through my cuttlebug to emboss the cardstock. I’ll do that next time!

NewMiniBk_spine_02

NewMiniBk_spine_01

Creating the spine this way means that, for me, I had to pre-wrap my chipboard covers for a finished edge. I use thinner chipboard, so to ensure a sturdy cover I always glue two pieces together, so leaving these edges exposed was not an option for me. Here is a close-up of the inside of the front cover. You can see that each piece of chipboard is individually wrapped and you can also see in the gap between the cover and spine, the painted canvas.

NewMiniBk_spine_03

The pages and tags are decorated with the Paper Studio’s Bella Bohemia paper pack and the edges are inked with Vintage Photo Distress ink.

The finished book measures 6 ¾” x 5 ¼” x 2”. Let’s get on with the show!

I tried my hand at adding something to the front covers, which for me, seems to be very difficult to do! The flower was made using the Tim Holtz Tattered Florals die and Pure Luxury 80 lb. layering weight card stock in Ivory, while the greenery was made with a spellbinders die and scraps of green cardstock from my stash.

NewMiniBk_01

NewMiniBk_02

NewMiniBk_03

NewMiniBk_04

NewMiniBk_05

NewMiniBk_06

NewMiniBk_07

NewMiniBk_08

NewMiniBk_09

NewMiniBk_10

NewMiniBk_11

NewMiniBk_12

NewMiniBk_13

As you can see, there are a TON of tags in this book, 22 in all! That should give anyone plenty of room to document the important times in their lives. There are a total of 6 large tags that slide into the top of each page and measure 4” wide x 5 ½” tall. Eight of the pages have tags that measure 3 ½” wide by 5” tall and four of the pages hold two tags each that measure 3” wide by 5” tall.

NewMiniBk_14

Thank you all for stopping in to see my handiwork. I hope you enjoyed your stay. Leave a comment is you see something you like.

3 comments on “Mini Album

  1. Bethany says:

    This is my favorite paper and love seeing what you’ve done with it.

  2. Maryanne says:

    Laura Denison created stack the deck binding not Suzie @ creative Cafe.

    • coloradoleen says:

      Yep, you are correct Maryanne and I did credit Laura with the stack the deck binding. What I learned, and tried for the first time with this mini album from Suzie was using the canvas to connect the front and back covers chipboard covers with the chipboard spine. I always seem to have a problem with my cardstock cracking when manipulating the covers, but this little trick help eliminate that problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

