Flowers – Copic Marker

Oh My Goodness…I LOVE Pintrest! There are so many amazing ideas out there just begging to be tried, and today I found a great idea I just had to play around with. We have all seen how to use inks and sprays to color 3-D paper flowers, but not once did I even consider using my Copic markers for that purpose. Kate Palmer from the Copic OZ blog did consider this and with amazing results! Follow the link below to see her post and watch the three videos showing the different techniques.

Copic OZ

Now, here is my try at this fun technique. I made my own flowers using the Tim Holtz die and Georgia Pacific cardstock.

CopicFlowers_01

The first flower I made is this pretty yellow and red “rose”. To create the flower, I used two medium and three small flowers from the die. I spritzed them with water before scrunching them up with my fingers to shape them. The layers are glued together with Quick Dry adhesive from Scotch. After the glue dried, I colored about half of each petal with Y17 Golden Yellow and then edged the petals with R27 Cadmium Red. I don’t have any of the Copic blending solution, but another option that Kate gave was the alcohol inks blending solution, so I used that. As you can see, the colors bled together nicely. To speed up the drying and to intensify the colors, I dried each flower with the heat gun.

CopicFlowers_04

The next flower I tried was a bigger one using only two layers, the middle flower and the daisy type flower. This time I did not add any water to the layers before I started, I just scrunched the petals with my fingernails, being very careful with the delicate daisy. The petals were colored first with RV13 Tender Pink and then with RV14 Begonia Pink. As an after thought I went around the very edge of each petal with the darker RV69 Peony. Again I used the Alcohol Blending solution to and then dried it with the head gun. 

CopicFlowers_03

The last flower I made used two of the large petals, and then one each of the daisy petal and the medium petal. Again no water was used, just my fingers to scrunch and shape the petals. The colors used for this flower were BV01 Viola, BV02 Prune, and BV04 Blue Berry. The colors look different online, it’s much to blue on here. In person the flower has more of the violet color to it.

CopicFlowers_02

The centers of the two bigger flowers are from a bag of gems purchased from Wal-Mart, and as you can see, I was too excited to wait till the glue dried to take the pictures! LOL

These are going to be so pretty on any project, and can be made any color you like, in fact the only limitation you have is the colors of Copic Markers that you own.

Thank you for stopping by. If you like what you see or have any questions, please leave me a message!

Leave a Reply

