Yet Another Mini Album

Here is another mini album utilizing Laura Denison’s Stack the Deck binding system. I am still working though the Paper Studio’s Bella Bohemia paper pack and again used the Frayed Burlap distress ink for the paper edges. This time I used an all black theme with the A7 Recollections brand envelopes that measure approximately 5 ¼” x 7 ¼”. Rather than doing a vertical book, I wanted to make a more horizontal style, just to switch things up a bit. There still aren’t any embellishments on the album, but I did remember to add a strip of ribbon to the front and back covers to finish them off just a bit more than the other book.

One thing I did learn this time around, to help ease the paper around the bend of the spine I made three very close score marks where the gap between the chipboard is. This started the bending process before it was moved and after sitting for about 2 hours and moving through two different photo shoots to get these pictures, the edges are NOT splitting!!! (This is me jumping for joy and doing a Happy Dance!)

Another difference in this book versus the other two with this stack the deck binding, I only have an 1/8” space between the pages. However, as I was creating the different pages, I couldn’t help but think, this book probably could have used that ¼” space between the pages. It may get a little tight in there after photos are added, but Oh well! Live and learn right?? lol

Ok, Ok, I’ll shut up now and show you the book! LOL

MiniBook_001

MiniBook_002

MiniBook_003

MiniBook_004

MiniBook_005

MiniBook_006

MiniBook_007

MiniBook_008

MiniBook_009

MiniBook_010

MiniBook_011

MiniBook_012

MiniBook_013

MiniBook_014

On this page I did a little bit of fussy cutting around the butterfly and the paisley designs. After cutting around the pattern paper, I adhered it to the black card stock and the trimmed around that a bit as well. Rather than using my ATG gun, or the red line tape to secure this pocket and the one above, I used a thin line of Scotch Quick-Dry Adhesive. I think I love this stuff!

MiniBook_015

MiniBook_016

MiniBook_017

MiniBook_018

To create these flaps, I used my Tim Holtz Alterations On The Edge “Brackets” die.

MiniBook_019

(this blue is just a bit toooooo bright! I tried everything I could think of in Photoshop to get the color closer to the original paper. The picture above this one is much closer to the correct color.)

MiniBook_020

These little books are so much fun to make!! So far all of them are for gifts, but the next one will be for ME!!! lol

Thanks for dropping by everyone. Feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions or comments on anything you may see here.

Leave a Reply

