Shaped Hinge Envelope Mini Album

A few weeks ago, I found a YouTube video for a paper bag album created by Laura Denison from Follow the Paper Trail website that inspired me give it a try. I am about half-finished with that album, but after spending the weekend viewing multiple videos from Laura, I decided to try making a different mini album, the Shaped Hinge Envelope Mini Album to be exact. (Click on the name to watch the video, but be careful, Laura’s ideas are addictive!)

As many of you know, I am not one to use a lot of pattern paper, there’s something about it that makes me nervous and WHY would anyone want to cover up such pretty paper???? LOL When it comes to 3D embellishments, it’s the same, I’m not sure how to use them nor am I sure how much is to much, or how chunky is to chunky. So sadly, right now, there aren’t any on the album.

Here’s the cover of my cute lil mini album

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_001

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_002

There are many, MANY ways to hinge pages together in mini albums, and in this particular album, Laura has come up with an ingenious idea – shaped hinges. In the examples she showed on her video, Laura used a leaf, snowflake, and an ornament as a hinge.

For my album, I broke it down rather simply, and used the scalloped rectangle nestabilities die, cut from a rather heavy card stock.

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_003

Each page is an envelope, which in turn holds a tag, the size of your envelope, for either pictures or journaling. The shape hinge also holds a tag, on either side, because only about ½” in the center of the shape is glued down. The only exception to this is on the covers, the shape is glued down all the way to give it more stability.

The pattern paper used is the Earth Tone paper pack from Colorbox.

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_004

Below is a picture of the two tags that are held by the shape hinge.

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_005

And here is a picture of the two of the large tags which have been alternated with edge punches from Martha Stewart and EK Success.

EnvelopeMiniAlbum_006

The covers are made with two pieces of chipboard that I glued together to give it a bit more stability. I also wrapped the paper around the covers to give it a finished look.

I have had so much fun with this book, and it was quick putting it together. There are a number of other albums that Laura has created that I want to make…the next is the Envelope Accordion Mini Album.

Leave a Reply

