Fall Leaves with DIY Bakers Twine

The other day I found a great tutorial for do it yourself bakers twine and in my post HERE I did a little experimenting of my own. With some of that experimental twine I decided to create this fall card.

The card base is Pure Luxury card stock in Ivory with a layer of Kraft Kore paper from Tim Holtz embossed with the swirls embossing folder from Cuttlebug. The leaves are from the tattered leaves Sizzix die also by Tim Holtz.

To make the leaves I first covered some grunge paper with a crumpled piece of dictionary paper that has been in my collection for years. After adhering the paper, I used the direct to paper application of distress inks in Mustard Seed, Peeled Paint, Rusty Hinge and Fired Brick. Then I applied some Antique Linen with a sponge dauber to tone down some of the brighter colors a tad. The leaves were cut from the die and then Vintage Photo distress ink was used on the edges, back and the stem of each leaf.

I absolutely love this pack of Kraft Kore paper and really think it adds a nice touch to the fall theme of this card. To add a bit more color, I used a piece of DIY Bakers Twine that I created with Ivory Cebelia DMC thread in size 10 with my Plumtastic Purple Bic MarkIt pen. As you can see, there is a difference in the look of my twine and the twine you can purchase from the store.

The best part about this card is I can use it for any occasion that I need in the fall season. In fact, I’m going to use it as a birthday card for my nephew, whose birthday happens to be today…Ok, so it will be a belated birthday card. lol

Leave a Reply

