12 Tags of 2012 – November

It’s time for another 12 Tags of 2012 from the amazing Tim Holtz!

His Thankful tag is as always a step past fabulous, and can be seen in the image below. (Click on his tag image below to go to his web site for all of the details)

As always, I do not have all of the supplies that Tim has, but that is the fun part of using someone else work as inspiration. Having said that, here is my tag.

I started with the same manila tag as Tim and stamped an image from one of his stamp collections twice on the side of the tag before using clear embossing powder. I don’t have any Thanksgiving, or Thankful type stamps, so I used some text stamps that I’ve had for ages and stamped them with black Archival Ink. While I do not yet have any distress stains, I did use distress inks on the wet tag to add color in Mustard Seed, Rusty Hinge and a bit of Weathered Wood.

After the tag was dry – with a little help from the trusty heat gun, I used a couple of texture stamps and Weathered Wood distress ink to lightly add texture all over the tag. Like Tim, I did not have these texture stamps on a block, but rather held them in my fingers to give is a more abstract pattern. Finally, with the sharp edge of my scissors I added texture to the edge of the tag and then with Vintage Photo distress in darkened it to really pop the colors.

The leaves are cut from a piece of Kraft Core paper with the Tattered Leaves die. I did trim off the bottom of the leaf a bit and added some veins with my embossing stylist. Then with an emery board, I sanded off the green color.

Under the leaves is a piece of burlap to add a touch more texture. The ribbon stated out as an ivory color, but again I smooched some distress ink onto the craft sheet, added water to the ink and to the ribbon, and drug it around to color it.

Sadly, I don’t have any metal charms to add to the tag, and when I did have a piece of string at the top it just did not look good, so I discarded those ideas from my final tag. It still turned out pretty darn good I think, and there are already ideas floating through my mind for Christmas tags using some of these same ideas!

 

As always, thanks for visiting!

One comment on “12 Tags of 2012 – November

  1. Cynthia says:

    Beautiful tag! I love how you used the Weathered Wood–it makes super cool ghost images!

Leave a Reply

