Free For All Friday – 2 steps back

This past weeks Free For All Friday challenge, No Steps Forward – 2 Steps Back, was to create a project with a recessed image. I have only made one other card like this, so it was a bit of a challenge for me, but it produced a very clean and very simple card project.

To create this card I began with a piece of watercolor paper, distress inks, and water. I cut my watercolor paper slightly smaller than the card base, spritzed it with water. While the paper was soaking up some water, I smooshed some distress inks in peeled paint, a touch of weathered wood, and mustard seed, onto my craft sheet to create a palette of colors, and then added some water to each color. Then using a water brush color was added to the paper. To use of the rest of the ink, I just turned the paper over and ran it through the puddles of color left on the craft sheet. It was then set aside to dry, although you could hurry the process along by using your heat tool.

The next day I cut a piece of Pure Luxury 80 lb. layering weight card stock the exact size of the card base and used my nestabilities foliage die to cut out the leaves. I stamped the greeting with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. The colored paper is attached to the card base, and the top layer is applied with pop dots to give it the recessed look.

This was probably the simplest card I’ve ever created, and a card that can be used for any occasion with a simple change of background colors and die shape used.

 

Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

