Do It Yourself Pinterest Idea

Ok, let me just get this out in the open, I LOVE PINTEREST!!! It is so fun to finally have a place to “put” all the wonderful ideas that I find online, a funny saying, super cool craft ideas, or inspirational quotes that I want to remember for myself or share with others. If you would like to check out what I have pinned to my boards or follow my pins, you can find me by clicking HERE.

Now that I have my love for Pinterest out there in the open, I can share why I bring this up today. There are so many great ideas floating all around the Internet, and one of those great ideas is to create your own bakers twine. I followed a link to the Seaside Creativity blog and realized just how easy this is. Bakers twine, for those of you who don’t know, is a popular accessory in paper crafting these days. It is normally white 100% cotton twine with a single strand of color running through it. Below is a picture from cutetape.com of their Cherry Red bakers twine as an example. (click on the image below if you would like to check out the cutetape.com website)

You can recreate this same look by using some white 100% cotton crochet/tatting thread that you can pick up from any craft or big box store, I used two different brands which I will talk about in a moment, some cardboard or stiff card stock to wrap the twine around and markers of your choice. I used both my Copic markers and some Bic Mark-It pens just for comparison in the few little test batches I made. As you can see, I used roughly the same color in each marker to get a good comparison.

Here are some  close-up shots for you. First, I do apologize for how blurry these two images are, I didn’t realize just how bad they were until after I was finished, but you can still see how it looks on the card. These two examples were done on size 10 Omega thread. I really like how the example turned out with the Bic mark-Its (in Rambunctious Red).

The Copic marker (R29 Lipstick Red) below seemed to bleed a bit too much for my taste. It could be the nature of the markers or it could be the type of thread used.

Here are two more image of the thread taken off the card stock. Both of the look equally nice, and depending on the project, would add that extra touch of class and beauty.

I did another sample using Cebelia DMC thread, also size 10, with the Deep Sea Blue Bic Mark-It and B28 Royal Blue Copic marker.

Again, the Copic seemed to bleed more than the Bic, but not as much on this type of thread.

This was a fun little experiment and I really like how it turned out. I think using a size 5 thread will get the thickness a little closer to the original Bakers Twine, but as always, it depends on your preference, the project you are working on, and what you have on hand. In the next few days I hope to get a project made with some of my homemade twine and I will get those up as soon as possible.

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

