Fun with Alcohol Inks

Yesterday while following a link to a YouTube video, I came across another video with a fun technique using alcohol inks. The video made by Sara from Time for Crafting is called “Blowing Alcohol Inks to Create a Stunning Background” can be found HERE.

This project looked like so much fun I had to try it. Using a combination of alcohol inks, acetate or glossy card stock, and a straw, you can create some amazing images like the ones below.

On these first four cards, I used a transparency sheet, adding the color on the rough side. I then used mini brads to attach them to the card stock with the shiny side facing out and the ink towards the card stock. On the first card, I used Archival Ink in Jet Black to stamp Happy Birthday. The other cards I used some score lines to add some interest. The inks used are Wild Plum, Butterscotch, Stream, & Lettuce.

The last two cards I used some scrap pieces of glossy card stock. The colors aren’t as bright as they are on the transparency, but they are still very pretty.

The colors on the card above are Cranberry, Butterscotch, Stream, and Lettuce.

This last card after I finished with the cranberry ink, reminded me of a poinsettia, so I added two different shades of green, Meadow & Lettuce, to represent leaves and a dot of Butterscotch for the center of the flower.

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed your visit and remember, comments are always welcome!

2 comments on “Fun with Alcohol Inks

  1. memalagene says:

    Gorgeous cards! You did an amazing job! I agree the last does look like a poinsettia!

  2. Ruby says:

    Love the cards and the technique!! The colors are beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

