Two Cards – Burlap and Butterfly

Hello everyone! My son has finally finished his 8th grade year, and is now officially a Freshman in High School, Lord help me! lol It’s been a long but enjoyable two years of teaching him at home through Colorado Virtual Academy. Hubby and I both believe these last two years have given our son an edge and hopefully an idea of how to study to be a productive, successful student. Gonna keep the fingers crossed, but not going to hold my breath, he is a teenage boy after all. LOL

Now, on to some cards. I made two of them this week one with burlap and one with a butterfly. The first card I’m going to show you is made with some burlap flowers.

Last week while perusing YouTube doing some research for an idea I had, I found a video tutorial by AtwaterMoon, Burlap Flowers Tutorial. You can find the video by clicking on the HERE.

I had some burlap around the house, so thought I would give it a try. I didn’t have the Mod Podge that she used, but I did have Royal Coat with a satin finish that worked really well. After letting that dry on the material, I used my Tim Holtz flower dies to cut out the two smaller flowers. I used some craft paint to give them some color, adding it just by swiping it on with my finger. Then to finish it off I applied some stickles for bit of sparkle and interest.

The card was created with purple and lavender cardstock that has been in my stash for about a day short of forever. The edging is the Martha Stewart arch lattice punch and the string wrapped around the card is from the burlap fabric.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The next card I made is another idea from the net. A long time ago I found Tami Hartley’s blog and this past week I saw a fabulous card that I wanted to try to CASE. You can see Tami’s card by clicking HERE and below is my version. It is super clean and super simple, but I think it turned out rather nicely.

The window and matching circle inside the card were created with Standard Circles Large Nestabilities die and the butterfly is attached with foam tape to give a bit of dimension. Here is a close-up of the butterfly, from my new Hero Art & Sizzix Antique Butterflies & Flowers Framelits Die Set W/Stamps.

If you haven’t had a chance to see or play with these, I highly recommend it! Not only do you get beautifully detailed stamps, but you also get coordinating dies to go with them. What more can you ask for?

Here is an image that shows the different Copic markers that I used. The card is made from Bazzill papers and the butterfly was stamped with Tuxedo Black Memento ink on Georgia Pacific paper.

As always, thank you so much for stopping by and remember comments are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

