March Tag for 12 of 2012

It’s a little (lot) late in the month, but here is my take on Tim Holtz’s March 12 of 2012 Tag.

I do not have a wood grain stamp, although it is now on my “must have” shopping list, so I used Tim’s wood grain embossing folder. I added some walnut stain distress ink to the embossing folder and then used vintage photo over the top to add some extra color and depth.

Because I used the embossing folder, I stamped the text, from one of Tim’s stamp sets, with black archival ink onto a scrap piece of velum. The flowers are Tim Holtzs Tattered Florals and I used some scrap paper for the mosaic with copper embossing powder.

The mosaic technique is a fun one to add to anyone’s tool bag of tricks. You need to start out with a sheet of Wonder Tape since you will be working with heat. Cover a piece of Grunge Board with the tape and cut out your image. Next, you need to cut some small pieces of paper. There are many different ways you can do this, either random or with a more precise pattern, whatever tickles your fancy or fits your image! After adding the paper to your image, pour your embossing powder over the entire piece, shake off the excess, and hit it with the heat gun. After it cools, apply Crystal Lacquer (which is what I used) or Glossy Accents only to the paper, not to the embossed area.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you come back again soon!

2 comments on “March Tag for 12 of 2012

  1. Love the colours of your flowers, so pretty 🙂

  2. So lovely…the colors are so amazing.

Leave a Reply

