Victrola Birthday

Here’s an idea that I wanted to try. I saw a card with the old Victrola created by Golda in the drop shadow challenge and it reminded me that I DO have this stamp set. What I wanted to try was to use the drop shadow technique not on the Victrola as Golda did, but on the music notes coming from the bell.

I used the stamps from the Gleefully Yours set by Nina Brackett, stamping and embossing the Victrola with Vivid brown. The notes were stamped with summer sky and Paris dusk memento inks (Happy Birthday was also stamped with Paris dusk). As you can see, hopefully, after stamping the notes in summer sky, I “huffed” on the stamp to reactivate the ink left of it and stamped the image again for an even lighter shadow. Then I distressed this layer with antique linen, tea dye, and vintage photo distress inks. The second layer is a piece of buckskin brown paper from The Paper Company, which feels just like leather. I really love the feel of this paper and the depth it adds to a card!

Leave a Reply

