Spotlight – The Hard Way

There is nothing like getting a great idea for a new card design, unless that idea comes at 11:00pm and you’re already cross-eyed from reading the last few hours. The idea of a spotlight card certainly isn’t a new one, I’ve done a few cards like this before and probably will again. The difference this time is I did not stamp two separate images. I stamped only one image and used the inside of a small lacey square nestability die to draw the boarder of the spotlight with a black Zig pen from EK Success.

The image used for this card was the daffodils from Theresa Momber’s Sending Sunshine set and stamped with tuxedo black Memento ink. Then very, very, very carefully I used Copic markers in Y17 Golden yellow, Y15 Cadmium Yellow, Y11 Pale Yellow, YG03 Yellow Green and YG63 Pea Green. The white cardstock was a bit too stark, so I toned that down with a dusting of desert sand Memento ink. The dark green Bazzill cardstock was cut with lacey squares nestabilities die and the lighter green came from a 6×6 Bazzill paper back.

As you can see from the close-up here, I need to work on my blending a bit more, but last night I did not want to push my luck! LOL

Here’s one more picture to show a side view of the image.

The most difficult part of creating this card was picking the paper color, I spent about 45 minutes looking at and rejecting ideas. Even with my handy dandy color wheel, I had a difficult time pulling this together. Also, since green really isn’t my thing, I’m not 100% convinced it looks as good as it could.

So here’s a question for all of you that I would love to hear back on…

When you create a card, what do you start with? A concept? The stamp? The paper color? The image color/s? Or do you just wing it all??

Thanks once again for stopping by, and please do let me know how you go about creating you works of art!

 

One comment on “Spotlight – The Hard Way

  1. What a brilliant idea. I have to say more often than not I just wing it all the way lol. I always start with different things, be it a stamp set, a colour or some papers etc and work from there lol…

Leave a Reply

