Acrylic Distress

And the fun continues! Late last night I took a tour of SplitcoastStampers’ Try a New Technique link to see what I’ve been missing lately. This weeks technique is called Acrylic Distress. You can find detailed directions, as well as a video from the talented Beate Johns by following this link here: Acrylic Distress.

Here is my interpretation of this fun technique.

Here’s a rundown for you, and it really is very simple (albeit a tad messy at times. lol).

  1. Cut and emboss your cardstock. The embossing folder I used was from the Cuttlebug emboss oriental weave set and I used a labels 8 nestability die.
  2. Paint the embossed shape with acrylic paint and let it dry completely (you can use the heat gun to hurry this step or let it dry naturally). Beate used an Adirondack paint dabber, I used Rose Petal acrylic paint from Making Memories and a foam brush.
  3. Sand the paint off the embossed image, this is the messy part. This step also took me a while to do, perhaps it was the nail file I tried to used or I had too much paint on the cardstock.
  4. Use a distress ink of your choice, (I chose vintage photo) to ink the entire image. It will look weird but keep going.
  5. Next use a moist towel and wipe over the entire surface to remove the distress ink from the painted area. As you will see, the ink will only stick to the sanded portion of your image!

My card is embellished with a flower from Tim Holtz’s Tattered Florals die and inked with warn lipstick distress ink. I also used some Offray ribbon from my stash and the “Miss You” stamp is from a collection of phrases I’ve had for years and was stamped with Rich Cocoa Memento ink.

Thank you for stopping by, and please remember, comments are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

