The 12 Tags of 2012 February

As I’m sure most of you in the paper crafting community know, for the last 5 years the AMAZING Tim Holtz has taken us on an adventure every December with the 12 Tag of Christmas. On February 13th Tim announced a new direction on this idea and launched the 12 tags of the year. Every month he will post a tag tutorial that will coordinate with that month’s holiday, if there is one, or a new idea. He started with a February tag and said he will catch up on January next month. Click on the image below and you can see Tim’s tag.

I don’t own many of the products Tim used, but it’s fun to make do and see where the creativity will lead, and to start the year off, here is my February Tag:

I started my tag with an Inkssentials #8 manila tag, then used white craft paint to stamp the distressed dots background from Glitz. After the paint dried, I used Warn Lipstick and Fired Brick distress inks to add the base colors. To get more of the white paint to show through, I used a moist towel and gently went over the tag to remove some of the ink. Then using a mister, I spritzed some water on the tag to add to the distressed look before running through the Cuttlebug and the swirls embossing folder. Finally I used a pair of scissors to ruff up the edge of the tag and then added Vintage photo around the edge and very lightly to bring out the swirl pattern in a few places.

To add some interest at the top and bottom of the tag, I used my Martha Stewart arch lattice punch, and the double Morocco lace punch by EK Success with some ivory cardstock and brushed on some vintage photo distress ink. The flower was created with Tim Holtz’s Tattered Floral’s die and warn lipstick distress ink. After pinching each petal with my fingernails, I edged it all with vintage photo ink.

The hearts on the tag were created with a punch that I’ve had for ages, and were clear embossed with my “From the Heart” background stamp from Hero Arts. I used the same three distress inks on these, but added a lot more of the vintage photo around the edges and went back into the center with a second dob of warn lipstick.

The ribbon at the top is an Offray ribbon from WalMart that I added some Fired Brick ink to and spritzed with some water. After it was day, I added to the top of the tag and then attacked it with the heat gun to give it some texture and body. When melting the ribbon, be VERY careful! I always use my embossing stylist to help control it so it won’t fold over onto itself too much and to keep everything from flying off the table. In this picture, you can also see in the upper left-hand corner of the tag, the affect that water has on the distress inks.

Don’t know about you, but I am looking forward to the new ideas and designs from Tim in the months ahead. If you decide to play along let me know so I can take a peek at your tag. As always, thanks for stopping by, and please remember, comments are always welcome!

5 comments on “The 12 Tags of 2012 February

  1. Ruby Taylor says:

    Could you please tell me if you can jump into the “12 tags” at any time, as long as you do all 12? I would like to try doing them this year, but don’t have any tags at this time and can’t get any until March. Many thanks….and I think you tag is terrific…thanks so much for sharing it!

    • coloradoleen says:

      Hi Ruby, thanks for the great comment on my tag! I think you can jump into the “12 Tags” anytime you like and do as many or as few as you like. It seems that the only restriction there is comes with posting an image to Tim’s blog. The February tags can only be uploaded there until the 29th.

      Thanks again for the visit to the bolg, and please come back soon!

  2. Gwen says:

    Nice job on your tag!

  3. Kristina says:

    nice job on your tag, i can tell you had fun with it!

    Visiting from Tim’s 2012 Tags
    Kristina
    http://www.pearlgateway.com

  4. Sandra says:

    Hi Coloradoleen,
    I just loved how you improvised and made the tag your own. Great texture and good colour choice.

Leave a Reply

