Copic Markers & Metallic Paper

The other day I saw a post on one of the StampTV forums about using Copic markers with metallic papers. My paper stash still has some silver and gold metallic cardstock from making Christmas cards, so I inked up a stamp to give a try. Typically, when I use metallic papers it is just as an accent, so I ended up learning the hard way that Memento ink does not dry on this slick surface. Oops! LOL After cleaning up the mess I made, I restamped my rose image from B & J’s Art Stamps and heat embossed it with clear embossing powered.

At this point, I decided to take a couple pieces of scrap paper to see what the ink would look like. Since I don’t have a lot of marker colors to chose from, I wanted to pick the best before I got started. This was an interesting learning experience, as in my hands, not all Copic ink colors work well on metallic paper.

I started my little experiment with some shiny gold cardstock and Y17 Golden Yellow and YG63 Pea Green Copic markers. In the two images below, you can see how the ink adds color, but is still transparent. I’ve been trying to come up with a way to describe what this reminds me of, stained glass seems to be the best choice, so far.


I used the same stamp and marker colors on the silver card stock but I’m not as impressed with this look as with the gold.

I did a second attempt with a different silver cardstock, this one more of a brushed silver than shiny like the finished card above. I’m not liking this one at all, and with this card, I realized that the more layers of ink you lay down, the worse it looks. 😦 You can really see that affect in the leaves.

Another thing I learned; never, never, never try to color on shiny metallic paper at night, the glare of an overhead light is murder on the eyes! LOL Also, as much as I enjoy working with it, photographing metallic paper is a royal pain in the butt!!

Thank you for stopping by!! Please leave a message if there is something you enjoyed, or if you have suggestions!

4 comments on “Copic Markers & Metallic Paper

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed the real tutorial, and I appreciate your trying this out for us. I too like the gold, and I hope that you had a great time playing around!?

  2. Sylvia says:

    I also think the gold came out better. Thanks for trying it out and writing about it. I don’t have any metallic paper, so as soon as I can I will get some since I would love to give this technique a try.

  3. Jan says:

    The only improvement I can see is to add more shading depth with your Copics. Good job and very pretty .

  4. Judy I, St. Louis MO says:

    Your cards are gorgeous. I will definitely be trying this technique. Thanks for pointing out that Memento ink does not dry on the slick surface.

Leave a Reply

