Christmas Cards & Copic Markers

I am way behind on my Christmas cards so today was the perfect opportunity to play with my new Copic markers. Since I am so new with this type of professional alcohol marker, I did a search of my favorite blog, Theresa Momber’s Crafting The Web, for tips on shading an image. After studying several of Theresa’s card projects, I grabbed my markers and got to work.

Here is the completed card

I started my card front by embossing apiece of Pure Luxury heavy base weight card stock in Ivory with Memento Rich Cocoa and clear embossing powder. The Holy Family stamp that was purchased from the Rubber Stamp and Scrapook expo a few months ago. Unfortunately, I neglected to write down the vender that I purchased it from. If anyone happens to know who to credit this stamp to, please do let me know.

I started by tracing some of the stamped lines with YG63 .

The with YG03 I filled in the rest of the image and blended it with the darker outline color.

I repeated the process with Mary starting with B24 to do the outline.

And then filling and blending with B21. I think I need a middle shade here. The difference between the light and darker color seems a little drastic to me.

Following the same idea here with baby Jesus I outlined with Y13.

And then filling in with the lighter Y11.

Finally, I completed the image with E00. Now seems to be a good time to mention how much I LOVE the blender pen!! In all of my research into these pens, the one thing that stuck in my mind was to purchase the blender pen first. It amazes me how this thing will erase a mistake, it is now my new best friend! LOL

I don’t own a lot of Copic markers, in addition to the ones used on this card I have Lipstick Red and Cool Gray #3. Because I don’t own a brown color, I had to improvise a bit for the staff that Joseph is holding by using a colored pencil.  To complete the card, I used a stamp of the sheet music Silent Night by Morning Star and embossed it with gold embossing powder. This was then layered over shiny gold cardstock and attached to the card base of Pure Luxury in Ivy.

It was so much fun making this card I ended up cranking out 4 of them today! I’m still a long way from being done with my cards, but this is four cards that didn’t have this morning. lol

Thank you for stopping by and please do leave a comment if you have any suggesting on how to improve my shading technique.

Leave a Reply

