Christmas Tags

I have yet to start on my Christmas Cards for the year, but I have been having fun making gift tags. I started off with plain large tags (5 1/4″ x 2 5/8″) purchased from Hobby Lobby.

The first two tags were made with Tim Holtz Pine Tree stamp with Memento ink in Cottage Ivy and Peeled Paint Distress Ink. The first tag was accented with Stickles to give it some sparkle and the next was covered in Fun Flock

 

The lamppost image used on the next tag is one of the very first stamps I ever bought. I remember that year to emboss my Christmas cards, I had to hold the card base over the burner on the stove to melt the embossing powder! LOL Life before heat guns!! LOL

This angel stamp is another that I’ve had for years. The color for both the lamppost and angel were added with colored pencils and a touch of sparkle with a touch of Stickles.


The next three tags are my version of Tim Holtz 2011, 12 tags of Christmas Day 5. You can see his tag as well as direction on his page HERE

Just a little run down of the technique for you:

I cut some of the packaging that came with my newest nestability die to approximately the size of my tag. I used alcohol inks on one side and after they were dry, I stamped my image using Archival in Jet Black OVER the alcohol ink. The trick to this technique is to blot the ink away immediately with a paper towel or soft cloth. Not only will it lift off the ink, but it will also lift off the alcohol ink underneath it. Such a cool technique, but you must be careful if using a stamp that has a right and wrong side, such as a text stamp. Tim suggests adhering the image to the tag with a bit of glossy accents, but I just ran my piece through the xyron machine.

To add a bit of something, I tied a bit of ribbon to each tag and then hit it with the heat gun to “scrunch” it up a bit.

All of the stamps used on these tags are from Tim Holtz

As always, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

