Challenge Time

This is the perfect time for a bookmark challenge from the design team at StampTV! I start a new class the 5th of September and I need a bookmark for my textbook. I started this one on a scrap of Pure Luxury white heavy base weight paper, then added the Harlequins background stamp from Stampabilities with desert sand memento ink. Then I added the text stamp from Inkadinkado with antique linen distress ink. To keep a light touch to this layer, I first blotted the stamp onto a paper towel before using it on the paper. The final layer is the Leaf Cluster stamp from Hero Arts with rhubarb stalk memento ink. I rounded the corners for the final touch and called it good!

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Another challenge I accepted this week was the Clean and Simple Cards challenge at SplitCoastStampers. This week they had a sketch challenge and to get an early start on a few Christmas cards, I gave it a try.

The first card I made is with my Tim Holtz Pine Tree stamp and cottage ivy memento ink. The greeting is from a set I’ve had for years, and stamped with tuxedo black memento. To add a bit of color, I took a length of ivory ribbon and used my Rambunctious Red Bic MarkIt pen to change the color. The card stock of course is from StampTV, Pure Luxury heavy base weight in white ( I absolute ADORE this card stock!)

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

The next card I made for this challenge is with my new stamps that I purchased from the scrapbook and stamp expo last month. The image of Mary, Joseph, and baby Jesus was another stamp like the hummingbird that does not have any details on it. It was an unmounted stamp and I neglected to write down the name of the vendor that I bought it from. The text is just the top of a stamp from Morning Star. The entire image is the sheet music to Silent Night. Simple colored pencils were used for the image, but I did not smooth it out with baby oil this time. I wanted to keep that little bit of texture in the image.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

The last card I did was not for any challenge, but this is the design I had in mine when I bought these two stamps. The music is stamped on a piece of Pure Luxury heavy base weight card stock in Ivory with memento ink. The Holy family is  stamped on white card stock and colored in with pencils and mounted on foam tape to give it some depth.

 

 

As always, thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

