Gate-fold Card…Take 2

While thinking about a card to create for this month’s release party challenge, creating a gate-fold card, I thought about how frustrating it is to try to take a good picture of one. I typically end up taking a picture of my finger as I hold it closed, or take a bunch of different shots trying to get the best result.

My mind kept returning to the thought that there must be a way to close them up and keep them closed. After a few hours of thinking, I came up with the idea that I could use the same concept as a lattice fold card to create a buckle of sorts. Here’s the card I came up with…

To start off, I created a bit of a template on some scrap paper I had. This helped me wrap my brain around the concept.

My finished card is 5 ½ x 5 ½ so I started with a card base of 5 ½ x 11. The pattern paper pieces are as follows, 1 piece 5 3/8 x 5 3/8 for the inside center, and 4 pieces that are 5 3/8 x 2 5/8 for the inside and outside side panels. When adhering the outside panels to the card base, you need to make sure to use an all over adhesive like the xyron machine as you will need to make sure the two pieces of paper stay together as you make your cuts.

Begin by adhering the outside panels to the card base and then with light pencil marks, create a template for your cuts. As you can see in my image, I kept the triangle approximately ¼ inch from the card edge.

Use a straight edge and sharp blade to cut along the lines from the point to the edge parallel to the card edge. As you can see in the next image, I used my 6” metal ruler to help me bend this piece down. (As you can also see, even with a straight edge, my cut lines are crooked…lol but that shows that this card is in fact homemade!)

You can’t see it in this next image, but after bending back the edge, I use it to lightly make where I wanted to make my cut on the opposite side. Again, using a straight edge and blade, I cut the slit in through both layers of the card.

At this point you can adhere the pattern paper to the inside of the side panels. I chose to have the pattern facing to the inside. Be extra careful when applying the adhesive to these sections so your card will be able to close and “lock”.

The inside of the card is decorated with a stamp from Friends are Forever stamp set from GinaK Designs. It was stamped directly on the pattern paper and then separate flowers were colored, cut and glued into place to add a bit of interest and pop of color. I also added a single flower to the front of the card as well.

Leave a Reply

