Free For All Friday – For the Birds!

Each Friday the talented designers at StampTV host a Free For All challenge. This week, our hostess Jennie wants to see bird theme card. A few weeks ago, I purchased a new stamp from the scrapbook and rubberstamp expo and last night I dug it out so I could join the challenge. I forgot to write down which booth I purchased this stamp from, and there is nothing but a price tag on the plastic baggie, but I love this little hummingbird.

The image is stamped on Heavy Base Weight Ivory cardstock with Tuxedo Black memento ink and colored with colored pencils and baby oil. I love how thick this cardstock truly is because the incomplete image of this stamp on the reverse side does not show through the finished card!!

You can’t really see it in the pictures I took, but the bird is layered. I stamped and colored the original image and then added a second complete bird over the top. After look at it again through sleepy eyes, I added the top wing as well to give it more dimension.

 

When I finished the card, around 2am, the top left corner looked so bare. This is where my problem comes with card making – what to do with all that white space. I didn’t really intend to create a birthday card, but after staring at it a while I looked up and saw this Happy Birthday stamp sitting on my desk. So there ya go!

I do have a question for you all though, what else could I have done with that space? What would you have done? Leave me a comment with some suggestions.

One comment on “Free For All Friday – For the Birds!

  1. I think that space was perfect for a sentiment! And that image is so versatile that you could do the card over and over and use a different sentiment each time.

Leave a Reply

