More Chain Maille Jewelry

Making chain maille jewelry is so much fun. It’s simply amazing what can come to life in your hands with a pile of simple jump rings and two pairs of pliers. Here are three new pieces that I’ve made over the last week…

The first came as a kit from Hobby Lobby. This is a Japanese 6-in-1 pattern and creates a very pretty flower bracelet.

All of the rings are double which I thought would be difficult to do, but aside from the very center ring, it was simple getting this together. I may make a few adjustments on this bracelet, it is a bit long so I may replace the hook with a lobster claw clasp, take off one of the flowers and add a length of single chain to the other end. That way I will have a better fitting piece of jewelry and still be able to adjust it if I need to. But until then, here is a close-up of the finished design…

The next project I did was an anklet, something I don’t typically wear, but thought it would be nice to try. The pattern is called Byzantine with double loops added between each segment of the pattern.

Here’s a close-up for you. The picture is a little funky, and I’m not sure why, but it gives you a better idea of what the design looks like. The rings are 6.5mm and I think 9mm although I’m going to have to double check that.This is a very delicate looking design with the rings used here. If thicker rings were used, it would be a denser weave, but it would still be extremely flexible and comfortable to wear.

Here is the last piece I made, it’s another anklet that was created with the 4-in-2 pattern. This is my absolute favorite of the two anklets! It’s made with 5mm rings, so it was a little tricky to work with at times (I had jump rings flying all over the house with this one! LOL).

Here is a close-up of the pattern and as you can see it is just two rings attached to two more rings attached to two more rings and so on for the entire length.

On both of the anklets, I added a single chain to adjust them as the day continues, but so far, I’ve not had to worry about that. It may be fun to add something to the end of those chains to offer a little more interest, maybe a small bead or charm…I’ll have to think about that and see what I have in my crafting stash.

As always, thank you for stopping by. Please come by as often as you like, and leave a message if you have any questions about anything, or just really like something that I’ve created.

Leave a Reply

