Cards to Share

Here are two cards that I work on last night. The first is a new technique that I found on the internet called Streaky Glass by Amanda Corbet. Here’s a link to the tutorial on her blog Krafting Kreations

I began by punching out a heart shape and adding a thick layer of Crystal Lacquer. I don’t own any reinkers, so instead grabbed the alcohol inks. Using Butterscotch and Cranberry, I added a drop of each, and used a pin to spread the colors around.

Here’s a close-up of the heart:

To create the card, I used my brand new Score-Buddy and made a few decorative lines using Gina K’s heavy base weight cardstock. It was difficult to get a good image of the score lines, but I staggered the length of each by about ½ inch to add a little more interest. I didn’t think the card needed much more than that, so I left as clean as possible.

The second card I made is something very different for me, using a HUGE flower! I made the flower about a year ago using the “Tattered Florals” Alterations die by Tim Holtz. Each piece was distressed with Distress Ink, but I don’t remember which ones were used. It was so big I didn’t know what to do with it, so it just sat in my basket until last night. Using a Fancy Tag nestabilities die I added the birthday greeting which was stamped with Tuxedo Black memento ink. I should have tried heat embossing it though, as the ink sort of faded into the paper.

Thank you for stopping by! If there is something you like, don’t like, or have any questions, feel free to leave a comment.

One comment on “Cards to Share

  1. Amanda says:

    What a beautiful heart! Great use of this technique! I love how the staggered score lines add some subtle yet interesting detail under that wonderful heart. This clean and simple card is absolutely fabulous! Well done!

Leave a Reply

