StampTV April Release Party Challenge Card

Thursday night I attended another release party at Stamp TV. It was a fun few hours filled with amazing new stamp sets, fabulous card samples and a couple of fun challenges. The first challenge of the night was the Random Findings challenge.

Our mission: use something that would not ordinarily go on a card!

My first thought was….what??? Then I remembered a little envelope of washers I purchased 2 years ago when I made the Washer Pendants. I had all sorts of amazing ideas back then, but ran out of time and moved on to other projects and the washers ended up just sitting on my scrap desk taking up space and gathering dust.

Here’s the card I created with these cute little washer for the challenge:

As you can see, it is very clean and very simple, but with the added texture and visual interest of the washers in the center of the flowers. I think it’s cute! lol

I used GKD Heavy Base Weight card stock in white and stamped the Autumn Leaves flower with Tuxedo Black Memento ink and embossed it with Judi Kins clear detail embossing powder.

Using Bic Mark it Pens, I colored in the flowers first with Yellow Blaze. Then I added a little bit of Summer Melon to the base of the flowers and then went back over it with the yellow blaze to blend it a bit. The center of the flowers was colored with Sunset Orange.

Here’s a close-up of how I did the shading. It’s no where near perfect, but it is a lot easier to do with this amazing paper! I’ve tried it on regular cardstock and the result was less that satisfactory.

I wasn’t sure what to attach the washers with, but I ended up using Crystal Lacquer. The plan had been to use it only in the center of the flowers. However, the first blob came out way to fast, and to fix the boo boo, I made a fast design decision and added it to the entire flower.

When you look at the close-up shot below, you can see where I didn’t get the Crystal Lacquer on evenly. Next time I’ll take a little more time, turn on a few more lights (it was already 11 pm when I got to this point lol), and do a better job.

I always enjoy the challenges from StampTV. They are so much fun and really get the creative juices flowing! If you haven’t participated in one yet, you really should give it a try!

Thanks for visiting, and remember, comments are always appreciated!

Leave a Reply

