Let it Snow Sketch Spotlight Challenge

To keep my sanity while getting ready to host Thanksgiving dinner for my family tomorrow, I played around in my scrap room during a cleaning break to create a card for GinaK’s sketch challenge. The snowflake stamp is from Tim Holtz, the saying is from Stampendous, the paper is from an 8×8 paper pack from Wal-Mart about 3 years ago, and the ink is Memento Summer Sky, Danube Blue, and a touch of Paris Dusk. I absolutely adore the idea Gina came up with to use plastic canvas to space out the holes for the brads. When I watched that part of the video, I had one of those forehead slapping “Why didn’t I think of that” moments! LOL

Here’s a link to the challenge if you want to play along this week! Sketch Spotlight STVSKSP3

 

Thanks for looking and to all of my US visitors, I want to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving!

 

One comment on “Let it Snow Sketch Spotlight Challenge

  1. Tee says:

    I really love the spotlighting on this card!

    You visited my blog and asked about the paper in my journal and whether it buckled with the watercolor washes. I posted this response there because others may have the same question – but thought I’d try to send you the info directly.

    The journal that the preview pages were done in is an old sketch book (double o wire bound) that I’ve had for a while. it’s been my goal to fill it up this year with AJ pages, sketches, watercolor studies – etc.

    The pages are a little thicker, but not by any means a “watercolor” paper. I have not had any trouble with buckling. They tend to curl, but I put in wax paper and dry it closed and that removes any warping.

    The journal I’ve selected for next year is one of my handmade, long stitch bound, leather journals. (I’m going to be showing you that and talking about journal choices and supplies in the next two weeks)

    I was worried about the paper, since it’s a 24lb recycled paper. So I decided to prime or size the pages with gesso.

    I’m giving them two (or three if I forget where I was the last time I worked on it) coats of gesso per side on the sheets. I tested this on a few loose sheets of paper. Then I did a collage, some watercolor, some acrylic and some pencil sketches and it stood up to all that I threw at it.

    There was no buckling to speak of after the first gesso layer. For that, I used a hair dryer and lifted the page over my hand. I used my fingers on the back to smooth any irregularities out as the paper dried. Now all is smooth and ready for some fun in a couple of weeks.

    However, when I make my next journal (a process I’ll share with everyone in mid-February) I have other paper that I want to try out.

    Hope that answers your questions. Feel free to use my contact form or send me an email directly if I missed the boat. shadohart (at) gmail (dot) com

Leave a Reply

