November Card Fun

Hi Everyone, I’ve been lucky enough to steal a little time in the scrap room to make some cards and try a few new techniques. I hope you like what I’ve come up with, and if you give them a try for yourself, I’d love to see the results.

The first card I tried is an idea from Jennifer McGuire called permanent mask. For this technique Jennifer used Glossy Accents, but I achieved the same results with 3D Crystal Lacquer. Here’s a link to the post over at Hero Arts, as well as a video of the technique: Permanent Mask

The maple leaf on my card is from Stamp Craft and the flourish is from Autumn Leaves. I used Distress Inks in (I think…) fired brick, weathered wood, peeled paint, and vintage photo with some added Memento ink in cantaloupe for a little yellow pop.

The next card I made is also inspired by Jennifer McGuire’s Holiday Thinking Inking class 2010. I’ve always been fascinated by alcohol inks, and this video just added to it, so it went on my “craft to do” list. What is so different about this project, it that the inks are used on watercolor paper. So different, and yet so much fun and such a different look from the glossy paper projects we are all used to seeing with alcohol inks. Here’s the link to Jennifer’s video:  Holiday Thinking Inking Alcohol Inks

Here is my card. I don’t recall what colors of alcohol inks I used, but I did use the pearl fixative. The angel stamp is from Inkadinkado. One thing I must stress is the importance of using white embossing powder. During the first attempt, I could not remember what she said to use, so I just grabbed the ever present clear embossing powder. It worked, sort of, but for the best results, use the white embossing powder.

Here’s a close-up of the angel card. You can see the shine from the pearl fixative a little better.

I have one more card from the talented Jennifer McGuire with a technique she calls Block Stamping. Using the acrylic black as the stamp, she adds Distress Ink and a spritz or two of water and presses it directly onto the card surface. Here’s her video demonstration: Block Stamping

Here is my rendition of this technique. I used weathered wood and broken china distress ink for the background. After letting that dry I added peeled pain, vintage photo and black soot with some Tim Holtz stamps.

The next two cards were so much fun to make and the idea came from Lyssa’s blog Song of My Heart Stampers. The technique is called Inset Embossing Folder. After gluing down some punched items to the card stock, Lyssa them runs the entire piece of card stock through an embossing folder, and it embeds the images into the background. Here’s the photo tutorial from Lyssa’s site:  Inset Embossing Folder

Here are my two versions of this technique. The first is rather simple with the purple and silver layer punched with a Martha Stewart edge punch. The Noel is a stamp that I’ve had for so many years, I can’t remember where it’s from. I ran it through my Cuttlebug machine with the Textile embossing folder and just love the affect!

The second card is made with Sizzlet diecuts. When I created the card, I added the Merry Christmas stamp from Tim Holtz before running it through his Damask embossing folder. I really didn’t care much for that affect, so I stamp the image again and added it to the card with pop dots.


Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment if there’s something you like, or didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

