Yellow Daffodils & Happy Birthday

Yesterday I created a fun little card for this weeks color challenge at StampTV. The challenge was to use white, yellow, and black with an accent color if needed. Here is the card I made:

I used Theresa Momber’s Sending Sunshine large daffodils stamp, adding a few extra layers to each flower for some added dimension. The background paper started out white, but I added some Creative Living ink in Sunshine ( I bought this years ago at the Dollar Store), and colored the flowers with my Martha Stewart craft markers in daffodil, glade, and evergreen.

Yes it’s a very pretty card, and I’ve received some great comments at StampTV, but something about it nagged away at me, something was missing. It finally hit in the middle of the night, it needed to have a black mat under the white strip of paper to pop it off the page. It nagged at me so much that today I made one more with the added strip, and I think it looks MUCH better!

Am I right?? Much better huh!

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

Here is another card I made tonight for my friend’s birthday. She is a very outdoorsy kind of lady, so I think this card will be perfect for her. The inspiration came again from Theresa Momber’s card Special Wishes.

Here is my version:

I don’t have the GinaK Stamps for this so instead I started my card by embossing the Hero Arts “Silhouette Spray” with white embossing powder. Then I used “Antique Linen” Distress Ink to cover the image and then added “Vintage Photo” to give it more color.

(The picture doesn’t look that great, so I may try to take it again tomorrow in the sunshine.)

Thanks for looking and don’t forget, I love to get feedback on my work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

