Cuttlebug Challenge #14

This weeks challenge is to use your favorite embossing folder and make a card. I only have two embossing folders, so far, and both of them are my favorites so I made this Valentines Day card.

Here’s the outside of the card…

pink_black_closed

and here’s the inside of the card…the embossed heart was intended to be on the outside, but I just wasn’t that happy with the way it looked so I added it the inside of the card instead.

pink_black_open

The little silver dots were created with a technique found in a magazine somewhere when I first started scrapbooking a few years ago. The cardstock was lined up under a sheet of plastic canvas and I used a silver gel pen to add the dots.

pink_black_canvas_dots

This canvas is the super small size holes, size 10 I believe, and it makes these little dots with the gel pen, but with the larger canvas you can get an actual square. I made a sample with the two different size canvases that I have to show you the difference. The small is 10, and the large is a 7.

canvas_samples

Thanks for looking and enjoy the rest of the week!

17 comments on “Cuttlebug Challenge #14

  1. Amber says:

    Your card is beautiful! Love how you used to 2 different folders on the front of the same card! And your plastic canvas idea is fabulous. Hope you join us in the future at Cuttlebug Challenges.
    Amber

  2. Christina S says:

    Awesome tip and gorgeous card!

  3. Shannon says:

    Hee Hee….the front reminds me of a Victoria’s Secret box….I love it! Thanks for playing this week.

  4. maggie says:

    Wow Wow, I luv the colour combo and how ingenious on the sheets, I have tons of them..:)
    Thanks for participating,
    You will be featured on Jan 22nd 09 at http://www.cuttlebugchallenge.blogspot.com
    Thanks,
    Maggie

  5. Sue Whyte says:

    Fabulous card!!! love the pink and black combination i really think it works well

    thanks for your lovely comment on my blog

    xxx

    Sue

  6. Ann says:

    Wow what a striking colour combination – I love the corner detail and the way you have used the plastic canvas. I have used it before but not in that layout and I really like it so must remember that one.

    Thanks for joining the Cuttlebug challenge – hope you will be able to join in again next week.

    Ann xxx

  7. allison says:

    these colours are fab together, great card
    Thanks for joining us this week
    Cuttlehugs
    AllisonX

  8. Susan Daly says:

    Beautiful!!Thanks for playing along with the challenge this week.

  9. Meda says:

    Wow! All that pink and the card is lovely! I don’t think I made 5 cards using pink. I am so affraid of that color!

  10. cassie says:

    adore this!! pink and black is one of my favorite color combos and swiss dots is my favorite folder – followed closely by textile!! what a neat tip for the dots!! thanks for joining us this week!

  11. Merry says:

    This card is simply elegant.

  12. Lorraine A says:

    Gorgeous card, will definately be using this tip 🙂
    Lorraine

  13. Chris says:

    Absolutely stunning card! I love pink and black together and you’ve used the combination perfectly. I’m glad you have two folders and that both are your favourites. I have to say all mine are my favourites, it’s had to pick just one. Your doodling with plastic canvas idea is ingenious, I love it and will definitely see if I can get some of this as I doodle a lot, thank you so much for sharing your idea, you’re so talented. Chris 🙂

  14. Jenn M says:

    I LOVE this! Love the colors!

  15. BettyBee says:

    This is a darling card! Pink and black are my favorite color combo, and you’ve done a super job with it! The heart on the inside is a great touch. I love it there. Thanks for the tutorial on the dots, too! Looking forward to seeing you on future Cuttlebug Challenges!

Leave a Reply

