The “Faux Bow”

I made a variation of the “faux bow” a few years ago at a make and take booth and loved how simple it was to create. A couple of days ago I saw another version of it that looked just as pretty. With no photo’s to go along with the directions, it took me  a few tries to figure it out, so I thought I’d add a few images of my own to help out other visual learners.

Step one – Create two holes on the card where you want your bow.

bow_011

Step two – Thread a length of ribbon from the front side of the card to the back.

bow_02

Step three – Create a loop with the ribbon on the right-hand side and thread this loop through the left-hand side hole.

bow_03

Step four – Repeat step three with the left-hand ribbon, creating a loop and threading it through to the front. After the loop is threaded through, take the ribbon tail from the previous step and threat the end under the loop that you  just inserted on the right hand side. Then insert the last ribbon tail on the backside of the card through to the front side, under the first loop.

bow_04

Step five – Carefully adjust the loops on the front to the desired size, while making sure the ribbon on the back of the card is snug to the cardstock. Snip the ends to the length you like.

bow_05

bow_back

And there you go! If you have any questions, let me know and I’ll see if I can clarify it for you.

2 comments on “The “Faux Bow”

  1. Shellie says:

    no questions at all. thanks for the pics…it makes it so much easier for me to “get”. I’m not sure I’ll ever tie a bow again i like this so much. Happy New Year!

  2. Monica says:

    WOW< thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a message I am so gla I did as i came back and found your fabulous ribbon technique. TFS I will try this and share it with my girls. Hugs Monica xx

Leave a Reply

